Header Ads


Add caption
The organization that advocates the nurturing and loving of Sinugboanong Binisaya (Cebuano Visayan Dialect) in Mindanao held its 18th Convention in Cagayan de Oro last October 24-25 in one of the Audio Visual Rooms of Cagayan Capitol College.

Bathalan-ong Halad sa Dagang-Mindanao (BATHALAD-MINDANAO) was organized 18 years ago by Sinugboanong Binisaya writers in Mindanao.

During its annual conventions, BATHALAD-MINDANAO holds learning sessions in Sinugboanong Binisaya grammar and composition.

In the first day of the recent one, pointers in using correct Sinugboanong Binisaya words, phrases, connectives, idioms, etc. were presented by outgoing President Rey Poloyapoy of Butuan City.

A lecture on Pamalak (Poetry) was conducted by PNP Chief Superintendent Alexander Abababon Abadinas, of Minglanilla, Cebu, a Binisayang Sinugboanon poet who had won several awards in the past.

After his lecture, he distributed copies of some of his beautiful pieces to the participants.

An on-the-spot poem writing contest, an activity usually forming part of every BATHALAD-MINDANAO Convention was held immediately after the lecture of General Abadinas.

In the evening as part of its social gathering, the participants attended an affair of young Cagayan de Oro English Writers and Artists at SUTOSAKI, a downtown establishment.

It was envisioned that those young writers will also be trained in Sinugboanong Binisaya as some of them have already joined BATHALAD-MINDANAO.

On the second day, Election of Officers for the next term was held and the following were elected: Raul G. Moldez – Pamuno (President), PCSupt Alexander A. Abadines – Unang Puli-Pamuno (First Vice President), Marcelo A. Geocallo – Ikaduhang Puli-Pamuno (Second Vice President), Mary Joy Gallardo – Kalihim (Secretary). Diana F. Flores – Mamahandi (Treasurer), Nestor B. Degoma – Kaabag Mamahandi (Asst. Treasurer), Emeterio Sumagang – Tigsupipi (Auditor) and Zola G. Macarambon – Tigpahibalo (Public Information Officer).

Members of the Hunta-Direktiba (Board of Directors) were: Rey Poloyapoy, Leon Ylagan, Bernie Dalit, Henry Lasola, Gratian Paul Tidor and Ton Dapusala.

Declared winners of the Way Pangandam nga Pagsulat sa Balak (On the Spot Poem Writing) were: Leon Ylagan of Bukidnon (First Prize), Francisco E. Dosdos, Jr. of Iligan (Second Prize) and Ton Dapusala of Cagayan de Oro (Third Prize)

BATHALAD-MINDANAO also gave Hall of Fame Awards in Sinugboanon Binisaya writing to Marcelo A. Geocallo for Balak (Poems), Anito B. Beronilla for Sugilanon (Short Fiction Stories), Mario C. Batausa for Sulaysay (Feature Stories) and Gumercindo M. Rafanan for Sugilambong (Novels).

Declared awardees of Hawanan sa Kabantog (Hall of Fame) are writers who had won several Best Work awards in many years.

Awards of appreciation were also given to personalities who have consistently extended their support to the cause of BATHALAD-MINDANAO over the years.

Finally, the organization passed a resolution thanking the management of Cagayan Capitol College for providing a very comfortable venue for this year’s convention

Post a Comment
Copyright. 2013. The New Ranao Star. Powered by Blogger.