Header Ads

4,125 school children benefit from BCH-ARMM Lakbay Kultura Program


MARAWI CITY – The Bureau of Cultural Heritage of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BCH-ARMM) headed by Executive Director Ardan D. Sali has successfully conducted fifty Lakbay Kultura Program (LKP) activities benefiting a total of 4,125 school children from fifty different elementary schools in the five provinces of the autonomous region for the period from January to June, 2015.

The LKP activities were conducted by the Cultural Affairs Officers of the BCH-ARMM in the said five provinces in partnership with school officials in the benefited schools.

The Program is one of the frontline services of the BCH-ARMM.

It aims to introduce to the five major ethnic groups inhabiting the provinces of the region, namely Maranao, Maguindanaon, Yakan, Tausug and Sama, the differences and similarities of these tribes, their culture, arts and heritage in order for the school children to learn and understand the Bangsamoro culture and heritage, and in the process raise the level of awareness among the children on these significant issues and concerns which are essential in the promotion of the culture of peace in the Muslim region.

The beneficiary schools include: ten elementary schools with 578 pupils in Lanao del Sur; ten elementary schools with 1,416 pupils in Maguindanao; ten elementary schools with 377 pupils in Basilan; thirteen elementary schools with 1,297 pupils in Sulu; and seven elementary schools with 457 pupils in Tawi-Tawi.

The LKP activities were conducted by CAO-Lanao del Sur Nor-ain I. Lambitan and CAA-Lanao del Sur designate Sahara K. Ali in Lanao del Sur; CAO-Maguindanao Sheryan Guialel and DMO Musalik K. Kabunto in Maguindnao; CAO –Basilan Jesa May Amoto in Basilan; CAO-Sulu Zekhal B. Juaini in Sulu and CAO-Tawi-Tawi Raja Lakandula S. Aming in Tawi-Tawi.

The activities were facilitated by district supervisors and school principals in the said provinces.

The beneficiary schools include:

Pualas Central Elementary School, Lumbac Primary School, Daksla Elementary School, Maligo Primary School, Danugan Central Elementary School, Tuka Linuk Elementary School in Pualas, Lanao del Sur, including Jose Abad Santos Elementary School, Malabang Central Pilot School, Tubok Elementary School, and Calimodan Village Elementary School in Malabang, Lanao del Sur;

Central Elementary School, Tenorio Elementary School, Dalican Pilot Elementary School, Lambuay Elementary School, Datu Hofer Ampatuan, Midtimbang Central Elementary School and Kiteb Elementary School, including Nuling Central Elementary School, Sandakan Elementary School, Tambo Elementary School and Tapayan Elementary School in Maguindanao;

Aldana Elementary School, Ubit Elementary School, Boho-Yawas Elementary School, Mamboring Elementary School, A. Mabini Elementary School and Concepcion Elementary School, including Balagtasan Elementary School, San Jose Central Elementary School, Dangkalan Elementary School, and Balobo Elementary School in Basilan;

Lawm Alat Elementary School, Tanjung Elementary School, Upper Kajatian Elementary School, Martirez Elementary School, Lower Kajatian Elementary School, Salih Yusah Elementary School, Hamid Halim Elementary School, Muhammad Jajurie Elementary School, and Kawmpang Elementary School, including Anuling Elementary School, Sheik Mustafa Elementary School, Hadji Gulamu Rasul Elementary School and Salih Ututalum Elementary School in Sulu; Bongao Central Laboratory School, Bongao Central Elementary School, and Datu Halun Elementary School including Tubig Mampallam Central School, Datu Halun Central Elementary School, Datu Halun Laboratory School and MIT Elementary School in Tawi-Tawi.

In a related development, the BCH conducted a two-day action planning workshop in Cotabato City last July 19-20, 2015 in preparation for the smooth implementation of the BCH programs for 2015 based on the approved local fund budget.

The activities included the formulation of strategic action plan and calendar of activities from January to June, 2015.

Other matters taken up during the workshop included the presentation and assessment of the 2014 accomplishment reports and the lessons learned from previous activities.

The presentation of the 2015 approved budget and critiquing of the first quarter work plans were presented by the Community Affairs Officers of the five ARMM provinces.

Executive Director Sali of the BCH-ARMM led the entire proceedings of the action planning workshop activity.

Meanwhile, a Youth Summit participated by young leaders from the different parts of Mindanao and ARMM, was organized by The Asia Foundation (TAF) and US Embassy to build up skills and knowledge as well as generate camaraderie among young people to become better advocates of peace.

Sali, and the Provincial Cultural Affairs Officers Lambitan, Aming and Guialel served as resource speakers for the Cultural Awakening Program of the Youth Summit, where different cultures of the Bangsamoro people in Muslim Mindanao were discussed and illustrated. Authentic cultural dances and music were also presented and introduced to the young participants. BCH-ARMM

Post a Comment
Copyright. 2013. The New Ranao Star. Powered by Blogger.