Header Ads

Kazalimbago elects interim officers

Ms. Gutoc-Tomawis
MARAWI CITY, October 8 -- Ms. Samira Gutoc-Tomawis, former assemblywoman of the Regional Legislative Assembly of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (RLA-ARMM) was elected unanimously as chairperson of Kazalimbago Movement, a reform organization of different sectors in Lanao del Sur working for the common interest and welfare of the province’ constituents.

It serves as watchdog during elections.

Ms. Gutoc-Tomawis is a renowned CSO leader, environmentalist, educator and peace advocate dedicated to the welfare of the Bangsamoro.

Under the auspices of the 103d Brigade of the Philippine Army, Kazalimbago held a meeting at Campo Ranao here October 8 to elect the new set officers and to discuss vital matters.

In attendance during the meeting were 103rd Brigade Commander Col. Roseller Murillo, former Assemblywoman Samira Gutoc-Tomawis, Atty. Amenodin Macalandap from Provincial Government, City Councilor Abdanie Alonto, Abdul Hammidullah Atar, Father Teresito Galiub and representatives of different organizations.

In opening the meeting, Murillo emphasized that Kazalimbago is a reform movement.

He said the organization may not be a solution to all the conflicts in Lanao del Sur but it can be a role model of change, a role model of reform.

“With that, we members should do our best and commit ourselves in this kind of endeavor, for the goodness of Lanao del Sur,” Col Murillo stated.

As many members were not present, some members suggested election of the new set of officers be postponed.

But Macalandap stressed that time is of the essence for Kazalimbago as its services is immediately needed due to the forthcoming filing of the certificates of candidacy for the 2016 elections.

“Our work is needed specially monitoring and reporting for this upcoming elections,” Macalandap said.

Atar then suggested that instead of electing new set of officers which may cause conflict of interest to those members who weren’t able to come, members could volunteer as an interim chairperson and other positions.

The suggestion was taken by the body thus a new set of interim officers were elected.

New officers are as follows: Samira Ali Gutoc-Tomawis, Chairperson; Alexander Dimaporo of Pilandok, Vice Chairperson; Noni Lao of RCBW, Secretary; Yasser Micunug of Karancho Inc., Treasurer; and Ayubkhan Saripada of SAKSI, PIO.

Atar suggested for the creation of additional position for the non-Muslims to have representation in every meeting and activity of the movement.

Thus the position of Civil Relations Officer was assigned to Father Teresito Galiub of MSU-Marawi.

At the end of the meeting, the body agreed to hold an executive meeting, to plan and discuss issues that need immediate action on October 11, 2015.

With reports from Hanalee T. Yahya and Hanifah B. Otical

Post a Comment
Copyright. 2013. The New Ranao Star. Powered by Blogger.