Header Ads

New law enforcement task force to be created?

FROM LEFT. Murillo, Hataman,and Adiong  who jointly presided 
over the joint ARMM and LDS  POCs emergency meeting held in 
Marawi City on October 19. SUPPLIED
Marawi City, Lanao del Sur, Philippines
October 26, 2015

The Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) and the Provincial Government of Lanao del Sur agreed to create a joint task force to intensify law enforcement in the region, especially in Lanao del Sur.

ARMM's bureau of public information (BPI) reported that the decision was made during the joint emergency meeting of ARMM peace and order council and Lanao del Sur peace and order council on October 19 held at the provincial capitol here to discuss possible actions to be taken in response to the killing of Marawi City’s Police Chief Superintendent Abner Wahab Santos two days earlier.

Santos was killed at 2 p.m. October 17 while driving his vehicle at Crossing Sarimanok, Brgy. Luksa Datu in Marawi City. He suffered multiple gunshots on the head and was dead on the spot, said the reports.

The suspects, as of press time, are still unidentified.

ARMM Governor Hataman and Lanao del Sur Governor Mamintal Adiong, Jr. presided over the meeting and agreed to create the joint task force comprising of the regional and provincial governments, the military, the police, and civil society organizations.
Haroun Al-Rashid Lucman, ARMM vice-governor; Col. Roseller Murillo, 103rd Brigade Commander; and Police Chief Supt. Ronald Estilles, ARMM’s regional police director, also attended the meeting, BPI said.

Officials who attended the meeting agreed on drafting a resolution defining the structure and tasks of the members of the task force that would address peace and order problems in the region.

It was said that the killing of the police chief was due to his active involvement against drug syndicates operating in the city and in nearby towns.The councils will also create a ‘Special Investigating Task Group Abner’ that will further investigate the killing. 

Lanao del Sur is a component province of ARMM, with four other provinces namely Maguindanao, Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi.

The New Ranao Star
Post a Comment
Copyright. 2013. The New Ranao Star. Powered by Blogger.